Frequently Asked Questions
ALL THE ANSWERS

Want to know more about our award-winning flavors? Wondering which flavors are nut-free, gluten-free, or dairy-free? Actually, we’re just kidding about that last one— all Gifford’s flavors contain dairy from local farms. But if you have a question, we probably have an answer here. And if we don’t, please contact us, and we’ll get back to you!

Q: Are your ice creams and frozen yogurts “allergen free” (gluten, eggs, peanuts)?

The only disadvantage of having a small 100-year-old dairy is that we just don’t have the facilities to house dedicated allergen-free processing equipment or ingredients. We wish we could, but we just can’t. All of our products are manufactured in a facility that stores and processes peanuts, tree nuts, milk, wheat, egg, and soy. 

We can tell you that our production follows a specific process on a daily basis wherein plain flavors (our vanillas and those containing no inclusions or ripples) are made first, with flavors of increasing complexity and number of inclusions (i.e. number of potential allergens) following throughout the day. Thorough rinse-outs are performed between each flavor and a complete deep cleaning and rinse finish out the day.

 We hope this gives you enough of an understanding of our process, so you can make the best decision for you and your allergies.

Q: Any chance of shipping me some ice cream during the pandemic?

While we have shipped to individuals on occasion, we don’t have a good system for shipping our ice cream. We’ve tried via FedEx with dry ice and Priority Overnight service, and found that while it is doable, it’s also VERY expensive. And now in the midst of the pandemic, our office staff is working from home, so we don’t have anyone in the office to make even that happen. So we’re sorry, we know it’s tough to go without a bowl of your favorite Gifford’s ice cream, but we just can’t do it right now. 

Q: Do your ice creams and frozen yogurt contain GMOs?

We do not have any ingredients that are certified non-GMO. That said, the supplier of our corn sweetener has notified us that the product may be genetically modified. Please know that as a small family-owned company, we take ALL customer comments, complaints, and suggestions very seriously. Often customer concerns become the basis for discussions on future production planning or changes. For example, customer calls, letters, and emails prompted us to discontinue the use of High Fructose Corn Syrup in our ice cream mix several years ago.

Q: Are your ice creams and frozen yogurt kosher?

Yes, all of our products are kosher (but not for Passover). We are certified by Quality Kosher Supervision out of Canton, Ohio. If you’d like to request a copy of our current kosher certificate, email us at info@giffordsicecream.com.

Q: Why can’t I find my favorite Gifford’s flavor in the store?

We would love it if all retail stores carried ALL of our flavors!  But, we have no say in the matter, and corporate chain stores can be fickle. In general, most of the big retail stores do a “reset” in the early spring and make changes in the products they offer at that time. That may be why you’ve seen a certain flavor in a store and then…it’s gone.